Antisemitism Study Group Reading List – Rabbi Drorah Setel

During each session we will be referring to sections of “Understanding Antisemitism,” a resource developed by Jews for Racial and Economic Justice: https://jfrej.org/understanding-antisemitism/  I also encourage you to look through the ADL materials on Global Antisemitism: https://www.adl.org/what-we-do/anti-semitism/anti-semitism-globally

Additional readings are listed under each session.

Session 1: What is Antisemitism?

Isaac Chotiner, “How Anti-Semitism Rises on the Left and Right,” https://www.newyorker.com/news/q-and-a/how-anti-semitism-rises-on-the-left-and-right

Paul Kivel, “What is Christian Hegemony?” https://christianhegemony.org/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/WhatisChristianHegemony.pdf

Shulamit S. Magnus, A plea against anti-SemitismThe pseudo-scientific term, coined by a German racist, obscures the rising tide of hatred. We need to use the J word,” https://blogs.timesofisrael.com/a-plea-against-anti-semitism/

Jonathan Sarna, “Anti-Semitism is a Symptom,” https://blogs.timesofisrael.com/anti-semitism-is-a-symptom/

Session 2: Antisemitism and the Right

Dove Kent, “Don’t Fall for ‘Both-Siderism’ Trap on Anti-Semitism,” https://forward.com/opinion/414867/dont-fall-for-both-siderism-trap-on-anti-semitism/

Dove Kent, “The Soros Myth,” https://jewishcurrents.org/the-soros-myth/

Dusty Sklar, “The Alt-Right’s Antisemitism,” https://jewishcurrents.org/the-alt-rights-antisemitism/

Eric K. Ward, “Skin in the Game: How Antisemitism Animates White Nationalism” https://www.politicalresearch.org/2017/06/29/skin-in-the-game-how-antisemitism-animates-white-nationalism

Session 3: Antisemitism and the Left

Blake Flayton, “On the Frontlines of Progressive Anti-Semitism,” https://www.nytimes.com/2019/11/14/opinion/college-israel-anti-semitism.html

Jill Jacobs, How to tell when criticism of Israel is actually anti-semitism,” https://www.washingtonpost.com/outlook/how-to-tell-when-criticism-of-israel-is-actually-anti-semitism/2018/05/17/cb58bf10-59eb-11e8-b656-a5f8c2a9295d_story.html

Steven Lubet and Jeffrey (Shaye) Mallow, “That’s Funny, You Don’t Look Anti-Semitic: Perspective on the American Left,” https://www.marxists.org/subject/jewish/ch-left-anti-semitism.pdf

Rebecca Pierce, “Black Antisemitism is not Inherently ‘Left-Wing,’” https://jewishcurrents.org/black-antisemitism-is-not-inherently-left-wing/

Session 4: Responding to Antisemitism

Jeff Jacoby, Jew-haters, right and left: If you condemn anti-Semitism only when it comes from the team you oppose, you havent condemned a thing,” https://www.bostonglobe.com/2019/12/30/opinion/jew-haters-right-left/

Rabbi Michael Adam Latz and Carin Mrotz, Hanukkah anti-Semitism requires a response. But we cannot fight hatred with more hatred,” https://www.nbcnews.com/think/opinion/hanukkah-anti-semitism-requires-response-we-cannot-fight-hatred-more-ncna1108771

Rachel Shabi, “The left must restore the ties between antisemitism and other racism,” https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2018/sep/11/left-antisemitism-racism-jews

Mitchell D. Silber, “How to Protect New York’s Jews,” https://www.nytimes.com/2019/12/31/opinion/how-to-protect-new-yorks-jews.html?smid=nytcore-ios-share

Bari Weiss, “To Fight Anti-Semitism, Be a Proud Jew,” https://www.nytimes.com/2019/09/06/opinion/sunday/anti-semitism.html

Back to top